Oregon Secretary of State

Department of Human Services

Aging and People with Disabilities and Developmental Disabilities - Chapter 411

Division 63
RATES FOR COMMISSIONER PER DIEM AND REIMBURSEMENT

411-063-0010
Definitions

(1) “Commission or Council” means those official bodies identified in ORS 410.070, 410.595 and 410.602.

(2) “Qualified member” means a member who is not in full-time public service and who had an adjusted gross income in the previous tax year:

(a) Of less than $50,000, as reported on an income tax return other than a joint income tax return; or

(b) Of less than $100,000, as reported on a joint income tax return.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 292.495 & 410.070
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 292.495 & 410.070
History:
APD 7-2022, adopt filed 03/01/2022, effective 03/10/2022
APD 37-2021, temporary adopt filed 09/19/2021, effective 09/24/2021 through 03/22/2022

411-063-0020
Per Diem Compensation

(1) Subject to the availability of funds in the budget of the Commission or Council, and except as otherwise provided by law, the Oregon Department of Human Services Office of Aging and People with Disabilities shall pay any member of a Commission or Council, other than a member who is employed in full-time public service, compensation for each day or portion thereof during which the member is actually engaged in the performance of official Commission or Council duties.

(2) The rate of compensation per day pursuant to ORS 292.495(5) is equal to the per diem paid to members of the Legislative Assembly under ORS 171.072.

(3) A member of a Commission or Council may decline to accept compensation related to the member’s service on the Commission or Council.

(4) In order to receive compensation, a member must submit to the Oregon Department of Human Services Office of Aging and People with Disabilities a signed written request for compensation within 30 days of the meeting or work performed. The member must specify the date, name, type of meeting(s) or work, and the number of full or partial days the member spent performing official Commission or Council business.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 292.495 & 410.070
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 171.072, 185.200, 292.495, 410.070, 410.320, 410.550 & 410.602
History:
APD 7-2022, adopt filed 03/01/2022, effective 03/10/2022
APD 37-2021, temporary adopt filed 09/19/2021, effective 09/24/2021 through 03/22/2022

411-063-0030
Reimbursement of Travel and Other Expenses

(1) Except as otherwise provided by law, the Oregon Department of Human Services Office of Aging and People with Disabilities may reimburse all members of Commissions and Councils, including those employed in full-time public service, for actual and necessary travel or other expenses actually incurred in the performance of their official duties within the limits provided by law or by the Oregon Department of Administrative Services under ORS 292.210 to 292.250.

(2) Except as provided in subsection (5) of this section, and notwithstanding any other provision of law, the Oregon Department of Human Services Office of Aging and People with Disabilities shall provide reimbursement to a qualified member of the Commission or Council for actual and necessary travel or other expenses actually incurred in the performance of a member’s official duties within the limits provided by law or by the Oregon Department of Administrative Services under ORS 292.210 to 292.250.

(3) For the purposes of this rule, in order to be considered a qualified member, a member may attest by signature that they meet the conditions and income limits specified in 411-063-0010(2).

(4) In order to receive reimbursement of actual and necessary travel and other expenses, a member must submit to the Oregon Department of Human Services Office of Aging and People with Disabilities a travel expense claim for reimbursement supported by receipts, invoices or other appropriate documentation for travel and other expenses within 30 days following the day the member incurred the expense.

(5) A member of a Commission or Council may decline to accept reimbursement of expenses related to the member’s service on the Commission or Council.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 292.495 & 410.070
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 185.200, 292.210 - 292.250, 292.495, 410.070, 410.320, 410.550 & 410.602
History:
APD 7-2022, adopt filed 03/01/2022, effective 03/10/2022
APD 37-2021, temporary adopt filed 09/19/2021, effective 09/24/2021 through 03/22/2022

411-063-0040
Reimbursement for Hiring a Substitute

(1) As used in OAR 411-063-0030, “other expenses” includes expenses incurred by a member of the Commission or Council in employing a substitute to carry out duties, including personal duties, normally performed by the member, which the member is unable to carry out because of the performance of official duties and which, by the nature of such duties, cannot be delayed without risk to health or safety.

(2) The amount that a member may be reimbursed for expenses incurred in employing a substitute must not exceed $25 per day, pursuant to ORS 292.495(3).

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 292.495 & 410.070
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 185.200, 292.210 - 292.250, 292.495, 410.070, 410.320 & 410.550
History:
APD 7-2022, adopt filed 03/01/2022, effective 03/10/2022
APD 37-2021, temporary adopt filed 09/19/2021, effective 09/24/2021 through 03/22/2022